IT’S SCIENCE!

I LOVE scientists. Honestly, if someone tells me they are doing research or want to share a new breakthrough in their field with me, I am RAPT. Sometimes I understand, sometimes I don’t but either way, I am down for some knowledge. If there is a graph or statistics, gracious me, I am into it.  Data science, physical science, biological science, psychological science – I don’t care, I want to know it all. That’s probably why I loved Dana Scully so much when I was younger and why Hidden Figures is my pick for best everything in the movie awards.

That said, there still aren’t enough lady scientists. This is hardly news. There’s always a “new” article published that states the “new” concept that there needs to be more women in STEM. Bestill my heart when I read news of women scientists being AMAZING in their field. This is how you get more women and girls in STEM – you highlight the women who are already killing it in their fields.

maryam_mirzakhani_web

For example, Maryam Mirzakhani is the first woman to win the Fields Medal, the most important mathematics honor. First in the 78 years of the award! I will not BEGIN to pretend that I have any idea what she won for. Something to do with Riemann Surfaces, which have something to do with complex multi-surfaces and hyperbolic geometry. I got a B- in Geometry in high school so I feel like I can be forgiven for not completely understanding. If I ever meet Ms. Mirzakhani, you can bet that I’ll be buying her a drink or two and demanding she explain it to me. I need to understand, mostly because I currently don’t, and partly because the few papers I read in connection to her work are intriguing.

View More: http://ericandjamiephoto.pass.us/dr-green

Another great example is Dr. Hadiyah-Nicole Green. She was only the second African American woman to receive a doctorate in physics from her alma mater, University of Alabama – Birmingham but has been focusing her career on fighting cancer after two of her family members fought the awful, hateful disease. She recently received a $1.1 million grant from the US Department of Veteran’s Affairs Historically Black Colleges and Universities (HBCU) Research Scientist Training Program. Her research, which has already excited a lot of people in the cancer research field, focuses on inserting nanoparticles into cancer cells. Once they are inserted, a laser can pinpoint them and destroy them. I’m envisioning a type of lock&load Star Wars-kind of process. The grant will allow her to continue testing and hopefully we will see this process more widely available. I hate cancer like it’s a sentient being so I’m always down for new ways to kill it.

yeahsciencebitch

Do you have a favorite current lady scientist? Tell us more in the comments!

 

***Want to read more about women in science, read “Women In Science: 50 Fearless Pioneers Who Changed the World” or visit this rad website that highlights amazing women scientists.

Leave a Reply

