Truth Hunter

A few weeks ago, I attended an awesome conference and heard Amy Hunter speak on a panel of powerful women, talking about Ferguson, MO. Her words have been bouncing around in my head since and I’ve been struggling with whether to feature her on the blog. What if I don’t do her justice? What if you reading this don’t get the same mind twist that I got? But in the end, she’s too awesome not to talk about.

In the summer of 2014, Ms. Hunter was the Director of Racial Diversity of the YWCA. She was already spending her days trying to live the mission of the YWCA – to eliminate racism and empower women. Before the YWCA, she had worked in corporate America, trying to address racism in human resource practices.  When Michael Brown was murdered, she attended his memorial and the protests that followed.

After the protests, she spoke frequently about the racism inherent in our infrastructure and helped foster a YWCA program called Witnessing Whiteness, which aims to create a community of allies and anti-racist supporters. At the conference, she discussed the benefits and consequences of calling out versus calling in someone with racist or sexist viewpoints. I will tell you that I immediately googled the YWCA program (none around me…boo) and sat rapt during the spirited discussion between her and another panelist about which is better: calling out or calling in.

I also spent some googly time on her. She has SOO many short, teaser articles about her but I would loved MORE. I am so needy with information about people I admire. I did find a powerful TedTalk that I think everyone should watch called Lucky Zip Codes, which focuses on St Louis but could be about any major city. As a Kansas Citian, I know it’s true there.

Screen Shot 2017-03-04 at 5.27.52 PM.png

I’m still too much in awe to be able to be fully clever about her. Tell me what you think of her after you watch the video. I’m pretty sure you are going to love her too. I’ll fully down to run towards her and work together to create the community we all envision.

Leave a Reply

