Sending you a texty text

I love text messages. I love apps that have texts like WhatsApp, SnapChat, etc. I once had 2000 texts in one month between me and one another person. Do the math on that. Other math that is cool? Text messages are opened by people 99-100% of the time. In 2014, 561 billion texts were sent EVERY month. 4.2 billion+ people text every day. 97% of Americans text weekly (my mother is in the 3%). 50% of adults from 18-24 say texts are just as meaningful as a call. (If you need the sources, let me know) Texts are obviously pretty powerful and in my opinion, vastly underutilized as a tool for change. My public service crush, Nancy Lublin, totally agrees with me. She hasn’t told me that directly but based on her career, I think she is down.

I am not inspired by helping you find Chinese food at 2am in Dallas, or swipe right to get laid. I want to use tech and data to make the world a better place.”* Nancy Lublin

Ms. Lublin has dedicated her professional life to supporting people, starting with an organization called Dress for Success. She started D4S in the mid-90s with a 5k inheritance and a few nuns as partners and it continues to this day by providing professional attire and development skills around the world. The entire organization is founded on the dream that every woman can achieve her full potential and full financial independence. As anyone can tell you, when you look good, you feel good. You feel good – it’s amazing what you can accomplish.
tumblr_morqmcKh6p1qakh43o1_250tumblr_morqmcKh6p1qakh43o2_250

Once D4S was standing on its own, Ms. Lublin moved on to DoSomething.org. Started in the early 90s by one of my favorite Melrose Place actors (hello, Andrew Shue), DoSomething focuses on empowering young people to make positive change in their communities. Some of my favorite programs include Diversify my Emoji (to get Apple to create non-white emojis), Nude Awakening (to convince Merriam-Webster and other dictionaries to create a more inclusive definition of “nude”) and Teens for Jeans (a nationwide jeans drive to provide jeans to homeless youth). I enjoy the play on words for most of the programs and their commitment to try and reach young’uns where they are at.

302b5ddbb830b2be25cbb628216acdf89e72a195_2880x1620.jpg

During one of their programs, DoSomething used a text blast. One of the responses shook Ms. Lublin so badly, she started Crisis Text Line in her spare time. I can’t do justice to the story so you can check out her TedTalk. Designed to be an anonymous, free, text line to provide support when anyone is in a crisis. It’s not designed to be a long term solution but helps people talk through their problems, reach out for help, and brainstorm ideas for support.  It’s a great solution, using a method that has such an incredibly high response rate. It allows people to reach out by texting 741741 or through Facebook, no matter what their situation. I don’t have any jokes about this. This organization is awesome. I even volunteer for it as a crisis counselor. Ms. Lublin left DoSomething to focus on CTL because the organization grew so quickly. It really addressed a need that no one else had noticed.

That’s the common theme for Nancy Lublin. She sees a need that seems to have gone unnoticed and designs something to address it. As for her being my public service crush, she regularly gets on the platform and she once messaged me individually to thank me for helping out. I legit squealed IRL. I once met a friend of a friend of hers and was not articulate once he started talking about her. I almost fear what happens if I ever meet her in person. It won’t be pretty. Probably similar to how I would react when/if I ever meet any of the badass ladies we feature on this blog.

*Pretty sure this should be a t-shirt

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

