Ice, Ice Baby…too cold, too cold

If you’ve been wondering why you’ve only seen posts from QueenJules, it’s because BrowneyedJude has been on an adventure on another continent. She returns today, bleary-eyed and inspired. Before she takes a well-deserved nap and returns to our blog, let’s throw out all the blueberry kombucha (so gross) and learn a little more about some of my favorite lady adventurers. I have a soft spot for lady travelers. I posted about one of the most famous ones in an earlier post, Nelly Bly, and I follow a few current bloggers that focus on solo women traveling. My interest stems from my own wanderlust (which BrowneyedJude also shares). I can’t wait to see all of the big 7s: continents, seas, and wonders.*

Bancroft_Photo04-743x504

My interest in Liv Arnesen and Ann Bancroft comes from my deep desire to visit Antarctica. I know they would totally understand this desire since they were the first women to ski and sail across the entirety of Antarctica’s land mass in 2001. In case you aren’t up on your geography, that’s 1,717 miles. They completed it in 94 days. As many can tell you, I complain about a flight of stairs. 1700 miles is almost unfathomable to me especially when you consider that Antarctica isn’t an easy place to take a stroll. Individually, these ladies are pretty amazing already but together, they are just beyond words.

1200px-Liv_Arnesen_Portrait.jpgBorn in Norway, Liv Arnesen had been breaking records before she strolled across Antarctica with Ann Bancroft. In 1992, she was part of the first women’s only team to make an unsupported crossing of Greenland’s icecap. In 1994, she walked solo to the South Pole (half of her trek with Bancroft. For giggles, she hangs out in the Arctic Circle. On her website, Ms. Arnesen says she is a keen outdoor enthusiast but she isn’t fanatical. If she isn’t fanatical, who is?

246a0d015901306313dfb6c8b3fbeaa3_f244Ann Bancroft (I don’t have to tell you that this isn’t the actress, right?) also was super impressive before she started hanging out with Liv Arnesen. In 1986, as part of a 6 person team, she was the first woman to reach the North Pole with a dogsled, without being resupplied. She also crossed Greenland’s icecap and both polar icecaps to reach the North and South Pole. These days, Ms. Bancroft also advocates for same sex marriage in her home state of Minnesota.

After crossing the Antarctica, they started an exploration company together and can often be found leading expeditions to highlight the devastating effects of climate change on the polar icecaps. They work with schools around the world, teaching kids about the Poles, the environment, outdoor activities, and climate change.

ny_A58

It’s not hard to admire these ladies. They push themselves physically regularly and care deeply about the world they traverse. They get to put “Explorer” on any forms that require you to fill out your occupation. When I do that, people think I’m ridiculous. Someday it would be awesome to hang out with Liv and Ann although I imagine it will be somewhere pretty chilly. I better wear nine sweaters.

pv8c5

*Occasionally I run across someone that maintains that there are 5 continents. Weirdos.

**Grammar note: I have no idea whether “ice cap” or “icecap” is correct. Google is not helping resolve this issue.

Leave a Reply

